Evanescence Song Reviews

Fallen Fallen
Buy It!
Released on
Tuesday, March 04, 2003
6. Tourniquet
REVIEWS PAGE #5
<< PREVIOUS PAGE
  

Review #4897 by Marcus
Written on May 3, 2005 (Read 397 times)
  
Yes im a christian reviewer. most of my fellow christian reviewers hate this song and say its immoral bla bla. well i dont feel that way. yes its about suicide. suicide is a bad thing yes, but my fellow christians, does this song ever say that suicide is a good thing? no lol. your so eager to bring other people down and make yourself feel right,that right when u heard the word suicide u had to assume this song promoted it. well sorry but it doesnt. in this song someone is depressed and angry and decide to commit suicide. after they do whatever to kill themselves and are in the process of dieing, they realize that suicide wasnt the answer, christ was. and now there pleading for mercy from god. this song is very intreging and has some wicked guitar parts. its a great song.
  

Review #4786 by David Celaya
Written on Apr 14, 2005 (Read 435 times)
  
Tourniquet is by far my favorite song on the album. The beginning is stunning. Starting out quietly and kind of erie, you are then bombarded by guitars. I especially like the part in the middle of the song: "I want to die!"

There are many ways to interpret this song. The truth from Amy Lee is that Tourniquet is indeed about suicide. From reviewing the lyrics, we can determine that the person, Amy Lee or whoever in question, has been taken advantage of, tormented, beaten, and has basically had her esteem crushed. What is possibly left in life if you have nothing and believe in nothing? This is where suicide comes in.

There is also a religious meaning behind this song. "My God, my tourniquet, return to me salvation" suggests that the person, Amy Lee or whoever in question, is asking for salvation. She is asking for her life back. She is asking to believe in something. She is asking for someone to help her - in this case...God.

I would also like to point out that Tourniquet was not originally written by Evanescence. Soul Embraced, a band that almost known one knows about, originally created the song. If you have listened to their music you would know why no one knows about them. Evanescence took the song and reworked it. They added some parts and made it a really good piece of music.
  

Review #4760 by ghoast
Written on Apr 12, 2005 (Read 421 times)
  
i love amy lee's voice. she deals with all the stuff that i do, the music from evanescence brings light to my dark life.
  

Review #4691 by JJBurns
Written on Mar 31, 2005 (Read 368 times)
  
Ok, I'm not sure if this was stated, but I don't want to read all of the posts. My take on the song is that it was written by someone contemplating suicide. This person is calling out for God to keep the last hope from draining from them. I've been to that state of depression and back. It's hell on earth; I can totally relate.
  

Review #4680 by eric lopez
Written on Mar 29, 2005 (Read 356 times)
  
this song help me deal with a lot of pain in my life and made me think that death isn't the only way out and that other people have worse pain that I have so I should be thankful that I heard this song cause I probably wouldn't be here today thanks evanescence thanks alot
  

Review #4677 by The Smurf
Written on Mar 28, 2005 (Read 338 times)
  
This song is excellent. By far my favourite on the album from the very first time I heard it. A lot of people say that it's a bad message and stuff like that, but I happen to think that the message is okay. I mean, "My God, my tourniquet, return to me salvation". I take that to mean that someone has lost God in their lives and their soul is bleeding to death. They're crying out for God to come back into their lives and stop the slow death that is happening. The "I want to die" line comes from the feeling of wanting to die instead of enduring the pain of being unattached to God. However, once God is there, he's there for good, it's just up to you to notice him there.
  

Review #4669 by kyleigh
Written on Mar 26, 2005 (Read 298 times)
  
Now, I'm not saying I'm going to end up going crazy and commiting suicide (No offense to those who have tried) but this song has really helped me alot. It's a really good rockin' out to song that actually has a meaning. Thanx Evanescence for everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  

Review #4626 by Guru
Written on Mar 20, 2005 (Read 280 times)
  
Hi this song really rocks,so much power behind the lyrics, just raw emotions. I mean the whole ulbum from start to finish is amazing. Amy you definitly have a soulful voice, can recognise it even in my sleep. Any way when are you guyz coming to South Africa you guyz have a big following up here,iam your concert will definitely be sold out.You could do a collabaration with by home boys Gasoline aka Seether!, we really would like to see you people in action. To me you the best band in the world!! better then linkin park though they good but you better.
  

Review #4621 by Another Christian Reviewer
Written on Mar 20, 2005 (Read 250 times)
  
Alot of christians say this song is horrible, I however do not agree there. it is not saying suicide is ok and it is not saying you should only call on god when you need him. it may sound like that the first time you hear, but listen and "digest" the lyrics and put them into perspective of the other lyrics and you may see a different view.
  

Review #4182 by bob johnson
Written on Jan 23, 2005 (Read 405 times)
  
this song is cool, and i love to listen to it. the guitar rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!

REVIEWS PAGE #5
<< PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >>

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 


Submit your own review:
Author's Name:
Author's E-mail: