Evanescence Song Reviews

Open Door Open Door
Buy It!
Released on
Tuesday, October 03, 2006
8. Like You
REVIEWS PAGE #2
<< PREVIOUS PAGE
  

Review #7352 by Natalie
Written on Jan 14, 2007 (Read 416 times)
  
Beautiful song, very touching, I too did cry when listening to Like You, and I could easily feel Amy's pain while listening. Keep up the good work, Evanescence!
  

Review #7347 by HauntedEyes
Written on Jan 12, 2007 (Read 383 times)
  
Oh my God this song is so touching...I have a little sister and that's exactly how I'd feel if something ever happened to her. I cry everytime I hear this song. You can feel Amy's pain...it's so powerful and beautiful.
  

Review #7315 by Helena
Written on Jan 7, 2007 (Read 375 times)
  
i love this song, it's got a good backing track and powerful vocals.
  

Review #7263 by Pilar
Written on Dec 14, 2006 (Read 383 times)
  
Wow, this song is so powerful! I didn't realize how close this song was to Amy's life until I listened to the lyrics and heard "...I long to be like you, sis..." ever since, I have shed a few tears for her. So sad...
  

Review #7199 by Dusti Marie Irey
Written on Nov 28, 2006 (Read 431 times)
  
Amy you've done it again. I relate to any and every song that you release. This song is more than words can ever begin to express. You have the vocals and the heart to pull it off. I hope to god that you release another album.
  

Review #7195 by josephine
Written on Nov 25, 2006 (Read 433 times)
  
i don't like the song "like you" because it make me cry if i listen to it.
  

Review #7166 by Dawn Carter
Written on Nov 18, 2006 (Read 452 times)
  
I agree with all of my fellow fans! I have 'Fallen for Evanescence since I first heard the haunting songs "Bring Me To Life" and "Taking Over" You are so brave for facing the past and staying strong inside..even when you took the right to grieve, you stood. Blessed Be. I am 6yrs older than you and I look up to you with high respect and love Amy. ROCK IT FOR INFINITY EVANESCENCE!
  

Review #7107 by Steve Jeavons
Written on Nov 7, 2006 (Read 482 times)
  
I've just gotten into Evanescence since "Call Me When You're Sober" came out.  One of the things I love about the band is their honesty.  We live in a fallen world (no pun intended--isn't that the point of that album?) and life can be hard.

I worked at as an announcer at a Christian radio station back in the 80's and left because the music, sadly, was so superficial back then.  I then went to a top-40 station and really enjoyed the freedom.  I suspect that the band was feeling the same way, hence the "Christian controversy."  Unfortunately, to be labeled a Christan band is to limit the range of what you can say and sing about.  I also suspect that a Christian band would catch hell for saying "I long to be like you, lie cold in the ground like you," because we're supposed to be joyful all the time, or at least make non-Christians think we are!  Actually the Apostle Paul conveys similar feelings in his letter to the Philippians (1:23): "What I should like is to depart and be with Christ; that is better by far..."

Fortunately, since the 80's some Christian bands have come out and sung more honestly about life: Jars of Clay (which, btw, is a Bibilical reference to temptation--the jar of clay is the body--it's fragile and easily broken), another one named Wes King sings about his and his wife's struggle with infertility, another group (can't remember the name) sings about having had a miscarriage.  These are things my wife and I can relate to and have been through.

Now, about "Like You."  Maybe someone can comment on this.  She says, "I'm not grieving for you," but it seems pretty clear that she is grieving for Bonnie.  So why does she say that?
  

Review #7057 by Stephanie
Written on Oct 23, 2006 (Read 536 times)
  
This song is totally beautiful and very emotional. It make me cry and i can totally related to the pain she feel in the lyric. Good  job amy.
  

Review #7017 by brandon
Written on Oct 16, 2006 (Read 575 times)
  
it is a sad but cool song. i like it because it is a different song than you hear these days i give it a 9 out of 10

REVIEWS PAGE #2
<< PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >>

1 2 3 4 5 


Submit your own review:
Author's Name:
Author's E-mail: