Evanescence Song Reviews

Open Door Open Door
Buy It!
Released on
Tuesday, October 03, 2006
2. Call Me When You're Sober
REVIEWS PAGE #5
<< PREVIOUS PAGE
  

Review #7204 by Disenchanted
Written on Nov 28, 2006 (Read 202 times)
  
I think that Amy is a great lyricist.  However, without Ben Moody, I really think that Evanescence has lost their ability to reach out and try new things.  All of the songs on this album sound just like the songs on Fallen.  
I really loved Fallen, but it is important to move on and expand your horizons.  But then, it's that same 'ol thing: if it worked the first time, why wouldn't it work the second or the third?
  

Review #7203 by Disenchanted
Written on Nov 28, 2006 (Read 200 times)
  
I think that Amy is a great lyricist.  However, without Ben Moody, I really think that Evanescence has lost their ability to reach out and try new things.  All of the songs on this album sound just like the songs on Fallen.  
I really loved Fallen, but it is important to move on and expand your horizons.  But then, it's that same 'ol thing: if it worked the first time, why wouldn't it work the second or the third?
  

Review #7186 by bec
Written on Nov 23, 2006 (Read 255 times)
  
OMG i love the song call me when you'r sober its soooo cool i love you guys at the moment im in love with james my ex and i just thourgh id just let yas all no lol...!
  

Review #7177 by Steve Jeavons
Written on Nov 21, 2006 (Read 284 times)
  
I had never heard of Evanescence before last month.  I was flipping through channels and caught this song just as the intro was starting.  Amy Lee stopped me in my tracks, and just drew me in.  First, her stunning beauty, then it was her amazing voice and the vocal harmonies at the end of the intro.  When the guitars started rocking I was completely hooked.  I especially liked the interaction of the classical piano with the heavy metal.  

But what the heck was the song about?  Addiction or just some fickle guy?  Well, it as turns out, it seems to be both and neither.  I love how she kisses her finger and then puts it on the guy's mouth at the end of the video and then giggles.  It shows her lighter side, having turned the tables on the guy and saying, "I've made up your mind."

Ah , but there's more to it than that.  "Sick with shame, must be exhausting to lose your own game, selfishly hated, no wonder you're jaded."  That's heavy stuff.   This guy's definitely some type of addict, and we know from the title and the refrain "You never call me when you're sober" that his drug of choice is alcohol.  (Of course, now we all know it's about the guy from Seether)

But let's look a little closer still.  The song's not about him--it's about her. Amy's somehow allowed herself to get caught up in the insanity of his alcoholism.  She's mad at herself and full of regrets for playing the fool (i.e., codependent) for so long:  "Should have let you fall, lose it all [but I didn't]...we're only deceiving ourselves and I'm sick of the lie [that I've bought into and helped perpetuate]...how could I have burned Paradise?"  If you've even been in her shoes, it all comes together in the song.  Living with an addict or alcoholic is absolutely maddening--we think we're going insane--then, hopefully, one day we wake up and say "I'm sick of the lie."  We've been enabling that person's behavior all along and now we have to choose whether to stay in the sick relationship pattern or say "enough! (I've made up your mind)"
  

Review #7175 by Dodie
Written on Nov 21, 2006 (Read 295 times)
  
i love this song it's totally hardcore when you listen to it EVANESCENCE ROCKS!!!(guys suck)
  

Review #7163 by amylees bigest fan
Written on Nov 18, 2006 (Read 286 times)
  
Ilove this song sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much it makes me think of my ex and sends me into my world of depression (thats my favorite world)bye
  

Review #7156 by eljgaolig
Written on Nov 17, 2006 (Read 308 times)
  
yeah
  

Review #7146 by Last_gril
Written on Nov 15, 2006 (Read 318 times)
  
I think evanescence is a very amazinge person WHo I know.She is beautiful very talanted person..and this song help me when I'm sad...I hope.you reading this story because I'm not from ASV I'm from Latvia and in Latvia you are number one 4ever...we love you and send you many many kiss:)*:D
  

Review #7144 by Amanda Gramchuk
Written on Nov 14, 2006 (Read 332 times)
  
I LUVVV THIS SONG SOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!! Evanescence is my fav band whaever anyone says about them! Amy you rock. Hope to meet her someday!
  

Review #7142 by CGoth
Written on Nov 13, 2006 (Read 351 times)
  
SUPER

REVIEWS PAGE #5
<< PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >>

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 


Submit your own review:
Author's Name:
Author's E-mail: