Evanescence Song Reviews

Open Door Open Door
Buy It!
Released on
Tuesday, October 03, 2006
2. Call Me When You're Sober
REVIEWS PAGE #4
<< PREVIOUS PAGE
  

Review #7230 by amylee78
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 318 times)
  
Listen to the emotions in this song. i know she likes to sing about morbid things, but what she sings it too real for her to not be hurt over whatever she is singing in this song. She is obviously showing pain of someone who hurt her greatly. No I don't have proof, and this is my own interpertation but still.

I think listeners should interpet the song in their own ways. Thats how I connect to Amy.
  

Review #7229 by Blind fools!
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 316 times)
  
No UR SO IGNORANT. You think you know her? know her life? You don't. Shaun morgan is an alcoholic and he may have neglected her and been a shit boyfriend but you people have no right to say he abused her, do you have any proof!
  

Review #7228 by Amy sucks ass
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 298 times)
  
Unless you have been hiding under a rock for the last few years you will know that Evanescence music is rarely the subject of the bands media attention with co-founder Ben Moody leaving the band stating “creative differences”, his replacement also leaving and Lee’s relationship and now breakup with Morgan.
Call me when you’re sober is a great Pop-rock song which has been destroyed by the transparency of its release. Call me when you’re sober appears to be yet another publicity ploy, forcing an additional spotlight on the debut song and album in case it failed to gain media hype.
The debut single off the bands second album has Lee openly reflecting on her relationship with Seether’s frontman, Shaun Morgan. At first Lee neglected to comment on the obviousness of the songs subject but when Morgan checked himself into rehab in late July, she publicly stated what the world knew to be true. Lee was quoted saying “It wasn't in any way public. I was trying to be kind of discreet about it, and then he totally came out and said he was going to rehab. It was shocking to me. It kind of made for a more interesting story.”
The change in lyric style has seemed to ground and humanised the once vague style of writing Lee held to, allowing evanescence fans to feel more of a connection to her words.  â€œIt was very brave for me, the lyric writing; because I was just sick of hiding behind metaphors in all that I had been writing.”
Many were curious to see the style that would emerge without Moody’s input and the opening single gave the public a taste of the harder and darker second album.
Yet with a band shrouded in drama it is difficult to see the music through the soap opera.
  

Review #7227 by Christian
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 212 times)
  
TAM! ur so ignorant! u seriously don't know the true meaning of abuse! If she was being abused why should she keep it to yourself! Its no accident that He went to rehab around the time CMWYS came out! IT WAS BECAUSE THE IDIOT REALIZED HOW STUPID HE WAS FOR LETTING AMY DOWN! u should be ashamed of urself u don't know exacly what happened nobody knows truly.. BUT I'll tell u ONE THING... From the rest of the songs in the album SHE WAS FREEING from a shitty life and becoming a new person. A person that isn't anyone pushing her around! HER DARK AGE IS OVER AND right around the coner is her GOLDEN AGE waiting for her! So don't hate just because she's expressing her self! THIS SONG RELATES TO EVERY WOMEN AND CHILDREN BEING ABUSED!!! IDIOT!! SHE STILL REFLECTS HER FAN!! SO if u are going to trash AMY go to fucking hell...
  

Review #7226 by Greenfairry
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 212 times)
  
tam, i disagree with you. unless you have been in an abusive relationship, you don't know the anguish someone feels. shes releasing it. i know I don't know exactly how she feels, but from my own experiences, I don't just want to shut up and accept I was abused. It takes venting and that is what I think she is doing. she is NOT cruel in any way.
  

Review #7225 by tam
Written on Dec 5, 2006 (Read 212 times)
  
I have lost all respect for Amy Lee. From the stuff i read Amy Lee takes herself way too seriously and thinks she's top shit. As far as im concerned if you love someone you help them you don't release a song blaming them for the demise of your relationship. Shaun Morgan has had a rough life and alcoholism is no suprise. He sought help, he went to rehab, he's trying to fix himself. But this isn't good enough for the perfect Amy Lee. Amy Lee dissapointed the world when she aired their dirty laundry and betrayed Shaun. She is not amazing, she is cruel. This new style of writing is supposed to allow for a better connection with her fans, allowing them to see her but no, she writes a song pleading the victim and blaming her ex for breaking her heart. I agree she is a great lyricist. But she is alson heartless.
  

Review #7216 by emochick
Written on Dec 1, 2006 (Read 226 times)
  
hi im emochick aka regan i know smack daddy his realy wierd jk hes my bf but anyways lets talk about amy lee she rox my punk ass world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i can soud like amy lee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  

Review #7215 by smack daddy1
Written on Dec 1, 2006 (Read 219 times)
  
emo chick sings this song for me all the time ... i tank she likes me!!!
  

Review #7209 by LuvEvanescence
Written on Nov 30, 2006 (Read 229 times)
  
I'll admit that Evanescence does have some of the same elements evident as those on "Fallen", but a new album doesn't necessarily mean an entirely new band. Still, "The Open Door" has introduced sounds I never would've expected from Evanescence. "Call Me When You're Sober", for example, was a pleasant surprise. The introduction sounds a bit like a blues song, only far better. And organ is used in many of the songs, an element I've only found on several songs from Evanescence's demos. And take "Good Enough". It's actually...happy. Another pleasant surprise. It's still Evanescence, just with a new twist.
  

Review #7208 by Disenchanted
Written on Nov 30, 2006 (Read 227 times)
  
That still doesn't mean that they don't sound the same.
"I admire Amy for being so real and writing about what's going on with her now, and not compromising it for anyone."  
I said Amy was a good lyricist.  I didn't even say I didn't like her new songs.  I just said it's difficult to differentiate Open Door from Fallen musically. It's the same kind of sound. It reminds me of the situation with Nickelback in which they've gotten stuck in the same kind of rut - repeating the "same" sound, just changing the timing, some of the chords, and the lyrics.
  

Review #7207 by LuvEvanescence
Written on Nov 29, 2006 (Read 193 times)
  
I think the new album is amazing, and "Call Me When You're Sober" is an awesome song. And no offense to Disenchanted, but I think you've done a 360 from what I hear from Evanescence. Not saying that Ben Moody isn't a great musician--he did help get Evanescence started--but without him, the band has in fact tried many new things not present on the album. Actually, the album has gone in a completely new direction than on "Fallen". Don't get me wrong, their old songs are awesome (I'm especially in love with their earlier demos and songs like "Eternal" and the 2002 version of "Whisper") but I admire Amy for being so real and writing about what's going on with her now, and not compromising it for anyone. I guess it's such a relief to finally find a band who's honest with themselves.

REVIEWS PAGE #4
<< PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >>

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 


Submit your own review:
Author's Name:
Author's E-mail: