Evanescence Song Reviews

Fallen Fallen
Buy It!
Released on
Tuesday, March 04, 2003
2. Bring Me To Life
REVIEWS PAGE #7
<< PREVIOUS PAGE
  

Review #3346 by kerstin
Written on Aug 29, 2004 (Read 727 times)
  
yes amy realy inspires, and since bring me to life i love evanescence and i've got all the other songs. birn me to life has this beautiful clip and it's true, you can watch it again and again it never gets boring. but the most beautiful is amy's voice. i know each song and i love to sing their songs!! thank you amy, your voice is so great it touches me!!
  

Review #3316 by Iman
Written on Aug 24, 2004 (Read 727 times)
  
GAwd, this song kicks ass!! It's like so passsionate and I can't stop watching the video clip. i listenn  to it like, everyday unless I travel. And Amy Lee kicks ass. i wanted to dye my hair black and pierce my eyebrow UNFROTUNATELY my parents  wun allow me. It takes me outta the wrld. Me and my Guy friend are gonna do it in a talent show. I go 4 vocal classes just because Amy Lee totally inspired me to become a singer. She rox!

PS: Amy Lee KICKS ASS! SHE'S OUTTA D WORLD!!
  

Review #3280 by princess
Written on Aug 18, 2004 (Read 816 times)
  
i like the way she sing... i like also his song!!! shes so fantastic... i really really like her... i usually brought her new album... =)
  

Review #3278 by Sean Liles
Written on Aug 17, 2004 (Read 813 times)
  
if someone asks me what my favorite song is, i say "bring me to life." the music in this song is so meaningful to me. the lyrics are an enigma, but they say a lot. this song is definately one i would recomend.
  

Review #3268 by susan
Written on Aug 15, 2004 (Read 766 times)
  
bring me to life takes me to other world and is wonderful its the best song that i have heard.
  

Review #3267 by alexandra
Written on Aug 15, 2004 (Read 719 times)
  
i love this song because the song takes me to other world and its the best song that i have listen
  

Review #3244 by jaja
Written on Aug 12, 2004 (Read 770 times)
  
i so love this song its da best! its so f*kin good dat i lissen 2 all da time!! i want to here all bout it!!
  

Review #3241 by Tihamer T. Toth-Fejel
Written on Aug 12, 2004 (Read 616 times)
  
“Bring Me To Life” is beautifully haunting and intensely passionate. I haven’t heard anything as richly layered and complicated since Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven”.  And the contrasting duet between Amy Lee and Paul McCoy raises the intensity to unbearable levels.

After paying close attention to the lyrics, and crying through the video a dozen times, I think I’ve finally figured out the power of popular music, at least in this case.  It’s nothing new, really.

Interestingly enough, even the artists don’t know why their song is so powerful.  Moody expressed his ignorance when he told Entertainment Weekly, "We're actually high on the Christian charts, and I'm like, 'What the <expletive deleted> are we even doing there?’"    The Arkansas goth-metal group came up through the Christian circuit and amassed a loyal following through live shows and limited-edition singles, but they seem to have been backing away from their faith backgrounds, giving a clue of Moody’s ignorance.  Still, Moody hasn’t walked away from his faith, as evidenced when he wrote in the album acknowledgements: “Jesus, all the life left in me is you.”  

But even when artists are intellectually confused, they are still well-connected to their own subconscious, and to the spiritual side of reality.  And looking through the glass darkly, they are often closer to the truth than they themselves realize.

So what is the power of “Bring me to Life”? The answer is in John Paul’s theology of the body, though one can find hints in the contrast between the Islamic and Christian perception of women.  In Islam, the wife is seen as slave to the husband, reflecting their belief that humans are slaves to Allah.  In Christianity, the husband must sacrifice for his wife as Jesus sacrificed for His bride the Church, while the wife defers to the husband’s leadership, thereby reflecting the relationship of humans to God as children to a father.  In both cases, marriage reflects theology.  In the “Theology of the Body”, the pope makes it clear that the sexual union within marriage reflects the communion of persons within the Trinity.  So when we fall in love, it feels so good precisely because God is love, and we are made for love – it is part of our essential nature as human beings, made in the image and likeness of God.

As Augustine put it, “Our hearts are restless, Oh Lord, until they rest in you.”  Accept no substitutes, and don’t confuse the reflection for the real thing.

The dramatic video begins in Daredevil's gothic New York, with whistling wind and sirens in the background. The camera zooms past a few skyscrapers, then swings through the open window into Amy Lee's bedroom, where she is tossing in her sleep, disturbed by a frightening dream of falling. This is followed by a long, silent pause (something that valuable radio airtime normally does not permit).

She bolts awake at Paul McCoy's "Wake up" yell, gets out of bed, and then steps out of the window onto the ledge, drawn by the music.  Walking carelessly along the narrow ledge, she passes a number of rooms in which people are living empty lives, echoing the lyrics, “Without a soul, my spirit's sleeping somewhere cold until you find it there and lead it back home.”  The reference to heaven is unmistakable, but only if one is familiar with the Gospels (“In my Father’s house are many mansions” John 14:2) and the Psalms (“I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever” Psalm 23:6).  One seeming exception to the persuasive emptiness is a room in which Mardi-Gras partygoers are dancing wildly.  But their energy is meaningless, as shown by a masked figure who lifts her mask to reveal an elaborately painted face underneath, poetically expressing the lyrics, “Save me from the nothing I've become.”  Desperate to fulfill her unmet need, Amy scales the high-rise apartment to find what she thinks will satisfy her.  But only God can satisfy both her deepest yearnings:

Amy: “Only you are the life among the dead.
  

Review #3233 by Lissa
Written on Aug 10, 2004 (Read 656 times)
  
I love this song!!! the whole cd is awesome! but this song is my favorite because it was mine and my ex boyfriends, and i still love him!!!!
  

Review #3218 by Rebecca Murrell
Written on Aug 9, 2004 (Read 677 times)
  
Hey ppl. i juss gotta say that Bring Me To Life is the best song on the album. The whole album rox to!!! I used to listen to like Britney Spears and like Pop music. but wen i saw Daredevil and i heard that song it sounded sooo good i wuz evrywhere trying to find that song but i didnt know who it wuz by or anything than my friend finally told me so i bought there cd. Now im soo attatched to them i listen to them evrywhere i cant not listen to them!!!! I hate everybody who hates them cuz they always say shit bout them. Amy Lee and evry1 who worked on the album worked hard and any1 whjo says anything bad bout them suck ass!!! like my friend well not ne more cuz wut they said fuck off!!!!!!! I wuz a blonde and i LOVED Amy Lee soooooooo much i died my hair black and got my eyebrow pierced. and started dressing like her!!!!!!! So Amy Lee and the rest of the band keep doin wut ur doin and ROCK ON !!!!!!
LUV REBECCA XOXOXOXO

PS AMY LEE ROX

REVIEWS PAGE #7
<< PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >>

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 


Submit your own review:
Author's Name:
Author's E-mail: